I’m OK, You’re OK

Somedays that’s all we need to know

From There to Here March 18, 2009

Filed under: love,Uncategorized — meandmom @ 6:05 pm
Tags: , ,

Four years ago today I met a man that would change my life.

It was the first date I had been on in 18 years. That makes me sound old….I’m not really that old.

I was scared. I was nervous. I had no idea what to expect.

He was sweet. And quiet. And interesting. He made me laugh.

There was an instant connection. An instant feeling of security. An instant comfort.

I didn’t go looking for my next “forever” man that night. But I found him anyway. I would never have expected it….honestly, I didn’t even want that.

What do you do when you find the love you’re meant to have even when you aren’t ready for it?

The last 4 years have been full of adventures. The good kind and the bad. We still love each other. Even when he makes me angry, I still want to be with him. Even though I drive him crazy, he can’t bring himself to go.

Now we are trying to figure out what happens next and how to go about the doing of the next. Blending families is a tricky thing and calls for slow, steady movements.

I’m still scared. I’m still nervous. I’m still in love.

Funny how the more things change, the more they stay the same.

-The Mom

 

One Response to “From There to Here”

  1. Headless Mom Says:

    Happy anniversary! (Do adults that are dating still think about that stuff? Because if I hear one.more.time. about my daughters’ 25th and a half month anniversary of the first time she went out with her boyfriend to a movie I think I might scream.)(Sorry about my little rant.)

    Anyhoo, I know that you will figure it out together. You have a lot of issues to include in the decision-continue to take it slow, stay comfortable, and you’ll get there!


Leave a Reply

