I’m OK, You’re OK

Somedays that’s all we need to know

Apple Pie in a Bag February 25, 2009

Filed under: health,helpful tidbits! — meandmom @ 5:08 pm
Tags: ,

I thought I’d share one of my favorite parenting tips with ya’ll today.  I threw that ya’ll in just for my Grandmother….I’ll talk about her tomorrow so make sure you come back!

This idea developed because for a long time anything food related that was wholesome and natural…you know like fruits or veggies…..were completely rejected by The Daughter.  Thankfully she’s grown out of that stage!  This little treat still comes in handy though because right now The Littlest either has a bunch of holes in her mouth or teeth that are ready to fall out to make new holes in her mouth.

For school lunches or snacks I take my apple corer/slicer thing-a-ma-jiggy (you know…the one that cuts the core and 8 wedges of apple) and pound it through slice the apple.  Then I stick it in a ziploc baggie and splash it with a few drops of lemon juice.  I sprinkle in some cinammon and a scant little bit of sugar (sometimes I eliminate that step but don’t tell the kids!).  Then I shake it all up.

By the time the kids eat it at snack or lunch, all the flavors have permeated the apple slices and they taste just like apple pie!

Bonus: The kids can’t tell if the apple slices have browned at all….which is a very good way to avoid fruit rejection.

Try it….you’ll like it!

-The Mom

 

2 Responses to “Apple Pie in a Bag”

  1. christyd4 Says:

    The horror when I sent my daughter apple slices and didn’t realize they would brown. I’m not much of a fruit eater. Her friends in dance laughed at her and she wouldn’t eat the apples. That was a really bad mom moment. Or how about the time I took guacamole to work and didn’t know how to prepare avocados. Yuck. There’s too much to remember!!

  2. Headless Mom Says:

    Great idea! I’ve wished for a way to send fruit with the kid who is so picky, and won’t eat apples if they are browned. This is perfect!

    BTW- you should link this at WFMW!


Leave a Reply

