I’m OK, You’re OK

Somedays that’s all we need to know

Don’t Go Breaking My Heart October 28, 2008

Filed under: family,love,ponderings — meandmom @ 5:05 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I sat there in the Middle School Media Room trying not to let a tear actually roll down my face.  It wasn’t easy.  The Daughter was standing up there with many girls that I have known since kindergarten.  Some of them we’ve known since preschool.  They were singing in their first choral performance of the year.  They were amazing!  They were composed and BE.AUT.TI.FUL.  They sang with joy and maturity and it was truly an enjoyable performance.  Big kudos should go out to the Choir Director who has done an amazing job with the 6 weeks they’ve been in school.  I’m serious!  These kids ROCKED! 

I remember many years ago at the wedding of one of my cousins, my mother said to me that she realized that when someone gets married or has a baby we often cry.  Her realization was that those tears came from our hearts breaking…..breaking apart so that they could become bigger to accomodate a new family member, a new life. 

When I watch my Daughter my heart often breaks.  It breaks because it has to get bigger.  It has to get bigger to accommodate my love and my pride for who she is.

You amaze me, my Dear One.  To see you take on this year and shine the way you are.  Academically, emotionally….you are more than impressive.  You are my pride.  You like to tease me for being so teary.  Now you know….it’s just me making more room.

-The Mom

 

3 Responses to “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart”

  1. Headless Mom Says:

    That is really beautiful! Girl is very lucky to have a mom like you. And you are lucky to have each other.

  2. Jamie Says:

    How beautiful. What a loving and magical experience. Thank you for sharing it.

    And thank you for joining Soul Coaching too 🙂 I’ve added you to the participant list. I’m sure we’ll have an amazing November!

  3. Ann Says:

    Jenn, oh my gosh!
    This post makes me teary!!!
    What your mom said makes so much sense to me. (It also comforts me because so many things make me weepie!)


Leave a Reply

