I’m OK, You’re OK

Somedays that’s all we need to know

Climbing to the top of the Mountain October 21, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — meandmom @ 4:33 pm

I have been so wrapped up in life lately, that sometimes it feels like I’m not even living. The mundane details that go along with having a life can take up all our good moments…..Laundry, paying bills, grocery shopping, work, dinner, the yard work, etc., etc.,….I’m sure you can relate.  Right now is one of those times when it seems like a big mountain of life is blocking the way of my living.

So, I was so glad when I read about Krysta’s 5×5 project on Jenny-On-the-Spot’s blog.  Now, I’m no great photographer or anything, but I wish I were.  I’m truly not artistic, in the real sense of the word, although friends tell me that I am.  I get very, very nervous about putting my creative side forward for others to see.  But feeling like I was in life’s rut, I decided to take on a couple of Krysta’s projects.

This weekend in the middle of raking, weed pulling, dog walking, shirt folding, floor mopping, carpet vacuuming, and freezer defrosting I took a minute to stop and photograph the roses.  Actually, my roses aren’t looking so great so I ended up photographing the evidence of my Handling Life….my dirty wellies that I took off before walking back into my clean house. 

I’m glad I did it.  It isn’t an impressive work of art.  I didn’t necessarily stretch my creative limits.  But….I did take time to do something just for me.  Something to remind me that I’m more than a vacuum pusher or a dust bunny catcher or a household finance director. 

Thanks to Jenny and Krysta for sticking a little bit of Living into a weekend of Life.  You can see my project here.

 

3 Responses to “Climbing to the top of the Mountain”

  1. Yay! Those are 2 fun photos – and fun boots! I love dots… I think it was so creative to submit both pics…

    And I think what you captured was creative – the shoes tell a story… I like the way they are “positioned” – or just how your feet came out of them…

    I am also feeling blocked… overwhelemd by the mundane that demands so much… Here’s to you, and so happy you took some time to get your creative on 🙂

  2. Headless Mom Says:

    Love your pics! It is good to do something for yourself even if it isn’t expensive or takes a lot of time. Just a few minutes is better than nothing!

  3. Ann Says:

    Hello Jenn,
    I found you at Beautiful! Fabulous!
    I must say, I love your Wellies!


Leave a Reply

