I’m OK, You’re OK

Somedays that’s all we need to know

Sweet Smell of Victory June 2, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — meandmom @ 7:00 pm
Tags: ,

Have you ever had that feeling when you’ve been trying to make a point for years but have been totally blown off?  No matter that you have validated your opinion with other people who you consider to be wise……

Have you had to fight so hard for what you know to be right that you begin to think that maybe the fight isn’t worth it, maybe it isn’t so improtant to be right?  Have you ever just wanted to throw in the towel because it would be so much easier? 

So very frustrating, right?  It’s hard to feel strong when you are in that place.  It is hard to feel good about yourself when you are feeling so weak.

I recently got the best validation from The Lady in the Black Robe who said (after a year of waiting for her to make a statement) that I was right.  I have been right all along.  I wanted to cry.  I wanted to laugh.  I wanted to say “SEE?????” but I didn’t.  I stood quietly and just allowed that sweet smell of victory to penetrate my nostrils.  I didn’t gloat.  I didn’t high-five anyone.  No touchdown dances in the end zone.  Just the beautiful aroma of silent satisfaction that I am not crazy, ingrateful, unrealistic, or cold-hearted. 

My struggles as a single mom won’t change due to this declaration.  My inner soul though…… well, she is just a little bit stronger, a little less defeated.  It is good to know that justice can prevail…..even if it takes 14 months.

Always stand up for yourself, My Daughter.  Advocate for yourself when you are right (recognize, however, when you’re wrong).  Don’t ever let anyone manage to convince you that what is right, is wrong.  When you are fighting for things that are true, it is worth the struggle.  And remember throughout life, I will always be your cheerleader.  When you have your moments of victory, over whatever you come against, I will take in a deep breath. Right alongside you.

The Mom

 

Leave a Reply

